Iraq is a parliamentary democracy with a federal system of government. The 2005 Iraqi Constitution guarantees basic rights. The executive branch consists of the Presidency Council (one President and up to three Vice Presidents) and a Council of Ministers (one Prime Minister, Three Deputy Prime Ministers and 30 Cabinet Ministers). The President is the head of state, protecting the constitution and representing the sovereignty and unity of the state while the Prime Minister is the direct executive authority and commander in chief. The President and Vice Presidents are elected by the Council of Representatives (COR). The Prime Minister is nominated by the President and must be appointed by the majority of members of the COR. Upon nomination the Prime Minister designate names the members of his cabinet, the Council of Ministers, which is then approved by the COR. The Prime Minister and Ministers are then sworn in. The executive branch serves a four-year term concurrent with that of the COR.

The legislative branch consists of an elected Council of Representatives (COR) consisting of 328 members. At least one quarter of these must be female. 313 seats are allocated by Province and 15 are minority and compensatory reserved seats.

Iraq's Parliament officially named Haider al-Abadi the country's new Prime Minister in early September 2014 and approved most of his proposed cabinet.

Iraq Parliament


Outpost Iraq

Office hours: Sun to Thurs 8:30 to 12:30 Weekend: Fri/ Sat Dubai based office
Languages: English, Dutch
Contact >>